Posted on: December 17, 2020 Posted by: admin Comments: 32

The World Kabaddi confirmed the appointment of Col. John Anthony Jackson as a vice president of the governing body at its executive committee meeting yesterday.

The executive body met online for the first time and the appointment was among the key decisions made.

Col. John’s appointment was unanimously agreed upon to fill the position left vacant following the elevation of Kabaddi Europe president Mr Ashok Kumar as the World Kabaddi president in late 2018.

Under the World Kabaddi statutes, all regional heads of the organization automatically serve as the vice-president of the world body. Col. Jackson is the current deputy president of Kabaddi Europe.

World Kabaddi president Ashok Das, said that the appointment of Col. John would be add more strength to the executive committee embarking on various plans to popularize the game outside Asia.

Col. John with officials and players during the European Kabaddi Championships last year

The vacant position of the vice-president from Kabaddi Pan America is also expected to be filled at the next meeting.

The executive body also decided to extend the suspension of all international activities provisionally, with the health and safety of athletes, coaches, officials and fans as the top priority.

The suspension that came into effect on 16th March 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic and in relation to World Kabaddi sanctioned events and activities would remain in effect until further notice.

“We hope to restart as soon as possible with scheduled international events. But we will give at least a two month notice before confirming any events,” said Ashok.

The executive committee is scheduled to meet again in June to review the status of scheduled events.

“We understand the anxiety of members with no international events taking place but hope that this global crisis would end soon,” added Ashok.

Non-international events and training in each country can commence in accordance of each country’s government health advisory.



Ashok Kumar (England)


M.V. Prasad Babu (India – Kabaddi Asia)

Jagjit Singh Gurm (Australia – Kabaddi Oceania)

Harish Kumar Singh (Mauritus – Kabaddi Africa)

Col. John Anthony Jackson (England – Kabaddi Europe)


S.T. Arasu (Malaysia)


Triano Alonso (Mexico)


Tara Singh Bains (New Zealand)

Mr Wyman Tan (Hong Kong)

Mr Basim Raisan Al-Ghali (Iraq)

Mr Parminder Sharma (Canada)

Mr Prem Singh (Scotland)

Ms  Perpetual Muthoni Mbutu (Kenya)

Comments are closed.